Happy Dad’s Day

I was unfairly blessed with an incredible dad whom I always knew loved me unconditionally. I know I’m not the perfect dad, but I’ve been blessed with three amazing daughters, all of whom make me enormously proud & none of whom I could imagine life without. If you’re half as fortunate as I am, remember to count your blessings & tell your dad you love him.
Over 25 years of teaching & coaching, I’ve known too many kids who lost their dads too soon, never knew their dads, or were stuck with jerks, deadbeats or monsters instead of decent dads. 

This weekend, keep these kids in your thoughts & prayers because it can be a painful holiday. 

For me, one of the best parts of teaching & coaching has been getting to know those kids & hopefully being able to be there for them when they’ve needed it. I could never replace a real dad, but I hope I’ve been able to help.  In many ways there are a lot of kids that I’ll always have in my heart, as if they’re my own. I know a lot of teachers think of their students as “their kids.” What a blessing that can be.

All year round why not try to be a friend or mentor to children without parents (or with broken parents)? You don’t have to be a professional teacher or coach to be a reliable, stable adult appropriately available to kids who need it. 

As the saying goes, “be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a battle you know nothing about.”

Psalm 68:5-6a “Father to the fatherless, defender of widows— this is God, whose dwelling is holy. God places the lonely in families; he sets the prisoners free and gives them joy.”

Leave a Reply

