Ps 23:6

BlackSHEEPSurely your goodness and mercy will follow me
    all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

At VBS, I told kids to watch for three sheep named “Shirley, Gladys and Marci” would be following them around the paths of righteousness. They didn’t buy it.

But corny Dad jokes aside, what I THINK this means is not just that you’re so loved that God will continue to bless you all life long- I’d like to think it means that if you’re really following in God’s ways, then you’ll leave a goodness and mercy in your wake. As opposed to what Marian Raven wood suspected of Indiana Jones in the ‘Kingdom of the Crystal Skull,’ “You still leaving a trail of human wreckage, or have you retired?”

If we’re authentic disciples of Jesus, surely Spiritual fruit like love, joy, peace, patience, kindness and goodness will be strewn along our trail, right?

Now, about that house:

John 14:1-3 “Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me.  My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.”

What a beautiful promise right? I had a professor who told us that there’d be snapshots of our students someday on the walls and mantles of our apartments in Heaven.

But that doesn’t have to be all. Why wait? Don’t worry- I don’t want you to leap off a cliff and die so you can go to Heaven now. What I’d like you to think about is that perhaps “house” doesn’t mean some far off castle in the clouds for eternity. “House” also refers to household. Remember in yesterday’s devo when I pointed out that we are God’s adopted children?

Think of the Kingdom like a house at Hogwarts, Griffindor, Huffinpuff, Slytherin, Ravenclaw and Shepherdflock. When we live in the fraternity or sorority house, we share their identity.

Of course, the other way to think of it is how when you’re a teenager and your parents yell at you that “as long as you’re living in MY house, you’ll live under MY rules.” When we pray “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done,” we’re asking God to help us live His way, under His Lordship.

Dwelling in God’s house doesn’t have to mean something we don’t do till we’re dead. It means being under His mentoring, loving influence, guidance and under His watchful protection.

It means getting to be part of something bigger than yourself. Being built INTO His house, into the Body of Christ.

1 Peter 2:5 you also, like living stones, are being built into a spiritual house to be a holy priesthood, offering spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.
Which is fine with me because like it says in Psalm 84:10 Better is one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere; I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of the wicked.
PRAYER:
Oh Lord,
Let my life be a blessing to others. 
Help me to be merciful, just as You have shown me mercy.
Let me be part of your household.
Use me to build something lasting,
with Your Son Jesus as my foundation.
In His name we pray,
Amen

 

Leave a Reply

