Ps 23:5


BlackSHEEPYou prepare a table before me

    in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
    my cup overflows.

I don’t have a doctorate in theology or Biblical languages. I’ve tried  searching for commentaries and Bible studies on this verse but I have to admit that I’m not entirely sure what God or David were talking about with this preparing a table before me in the presence of my enemies.

So you can take this with a grain of salt if you want to, but I’m going to go out on a limb here and bring up an unexpected food group. The fruit of the Spirit. Galatians 5:22-23  But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,  gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.

The crazy thing about this feast is that it’s not just for us, it’s for others too. In fact, we would do well to share this fruit with our enemies.

This might not have been what the Apostle Paul meant when in Romans 12:20 when he said “If your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink. In doing this, you will heap burning coals on his head.”

Although, in the ancient Middle East, people would put coals (or at least ashes) on their heads to show that they were sorry for their sins and wanted to repent. Surely, if we offer others (even our enemies) love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, & gentleness- these fruit may just work to soften or turn their hearts.

Anointing my head with oil and overflowing cups are obviously easier. In that ancient Mid-East, anointing your head with oil, like washing your feel, was a service you offered as a form of hospitality. Ah, but all over the Old Testament God is anointing priests and kings and altars and things. That’s because anointing is a ceremonial way of sanctifying things, making them holy, setting them aside for a purpose.

1 John 3:1 See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!

In other words, God wants to adopt you into His family AND commission you as His ambassador. That’s right. We’re on a mission from God.

As for that cup runningeth over stuff? Think about it. The whole optimist/pessimist thing about the cup being half-full or half-empty? Moot issue when it’s OVERFLOWING! Obviously we have MORE than we need. And, like the table full of fruit- if our cup’s runningeth over, we really ought to share, right?

PRAYER:

Lord,
You work in mysterious ways.
Like loving your enemies and praying for those that persecute you.
Like choosing a wretch like me! 
What am I that you care for me? 
Use me as an instrument of your peace,
Let me make a difference for you that that’s bigger than I am.
In Jesus name, 
Amen

 

MissionFromGod

 

Leave a Reply

