Ps23:1

BlackSHEEP.pngThis Summer both at the LCMS National Youth Gathering (#nyg2016) in New Orleans and at our congregations’ Vacation Bible School, I ran across the 23rd Psalm an awful lot. I’d never managed to commit it to memory until this Summer. For millennia, Jewish and Christian believers have recited it in times of crisis to find solace and comfort. The American pilots held prisoner in the infamous Hanoi Hilton POW camp during the Vietnam War tapped it out in Morris Code to encourage one another.

Because so, so many of us seem to be plagued with angst and anxiety lately (myself included) I thought I’d write a series of brief devotions on each verse in the psalm. I hope that they will be an encouragement to whoever happens to read them. Peace, friends. 

The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.

Hard, hard HARD to live and believe. This is one of those verses where I find myself praying Mark 9:24 “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!”

But part of this is trusting in Psalm 37:4 Delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

If we seek first His kingdom, He will take care of us. If we desire for money and power or prominence or comfort, we’ll never be satisfied.

Matthew 6:21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.
People like to use Philippians 4:13 “I can do all this through him who gives me strength.” to encourage them to accomplish anything they want. However, if we read the previous two verses, we see that Paul isn’t saying you can DO anything you set your mind to. He’s saying you can get THROUGH anything you have to with God at your side.
“…I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.”

PRAYER:

Lord,
Remind me that if I pray “Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done, on Earth as it is in Heaven,” then You will certainly “give us this day, our daily bread.”
May I desire to follow and serve You with all that I am and all that I do.
And may I thank you for all that I have since it is a gift and trust from you.
Help me to trust you at all times and under all conditions, that You will provide what I need.
In Jesus our good shepherd’s name we pray, 
Amen
Leave a Reply

