Difficult Weekend

Dad's interment at the Arizona Veteran's Memorial Cemetery in Phoenix. Image by photographer Carrie A. Menard (my loving cousin).

Dad’s interment at the Arizona Veteran’s Memorial Cemetery in Phoenix. Image by photographer Carrie A. Menard (my loving cousin).

Father’s Day will be tougher this year. My Dad passed away this past March. These last several weeks I had finally seemed to have dodged my grief as a constant companion. Then I was confronted with all those Father’s Day cards and sales in the stores.

Today I finally managed to get through my thank-yous for all the sympathy cards and memorial gifts. It helps to have three loving daughters and a wonderful wife who’ve been whispering about their plans to dote on me. After I finished the last thank you, I did something else I hadn’t had the courage to do yet; look through the pictures that my cousin took of the Marine Corps flag ceremony for my Dad.

I love my Dad and miss him. But at the best thing he ever gave me was the example of what a loving and caring father and husband is for me to follow. Hopefully I won’t fall apart when I open my cards or grill brats, or (hopefully) attend a minor league baseball game.

Ever hurt when a holiday comes around? What do you do to cope?

Leave a Reply

